Aftermath

The big fantasy face-off happened last week, and I’m finally sifting through its aftermath. Well, I’ll tell you first off that I somehow won, even though several of my players underperformed, and the difference between winning and losing didn’t quite come down to the players I thought would decide it. Here are the final numbers…

Boom! Shake the Room!                    @ Suck It!

QB

Andrew Luck           33

QB

Peyton Manning            53

RB1

LeSean McCoy        15

RB1

Matt Forte                      4

RB2

Bryce Brown             1

RB2

Kendall Hunter              -2

WR1

Wes Welker              2

WR1

Victor Cruz                    3

WR2

Eric Decker               5

WR2

Jordy Nelson                  5

TE

Jordan Reed            12

TE

Jason Witten                  2

FLEX

DeSean Jackson      14

FLEX

Alshon Jeffery              11

K

Dan Carpenter          4

K

Blair Walsh                   11

DST

Colts                        0

DST

Packers                         2

HC

Chiefs HC               BYE

HC

Colts HC                       -5

The surface numbers are simple. She beat me in four categories, while I beat her in five categories. But the biggest category she won was the one I expected, at quarterback. Manning gave her a 20 point cushion head to head against Luck, and that would have doomed me if not for three significant happenings. First was the fumble lost by Kendall Hunter that took him from 1 point on the positive side to 2 points under on the negative side. Second was the fumble by Manning himself that dropped his score back two points. That gave me a 4 point lead heading into the Sunday night New Orleans/Dallas game. Odds were that Jason Witten, Romo’s security blanket, would come through with at least those 4 points, but he didn’t.

In fact, the biggest single play of the matchup overall wasn’t those fumbles. It was the catch that wasn’t a catch by Witten when he was wide open down the middle of the field that would have given him that extra 14 yards, and a tie game. It may have also turned the tide in the actual game because after that drop Witten only had two more catches in the game for minimal yardage, and my team pulled it off, the biggest game of the week.

The thing I keep coming back to after the matchup is that even without my number one playmaker, Jamaal Charles, who was off on a bye, and no head coach, I was able to beat my biggest competition to that point. And it doesn’t matter that I would have lost to every other winner in my league for the week because the joy of head to head is that I only had to beat the one person. Now this week I play the worst team in the league with a chance to get to 9-2, and I have Charles back. I like my odds, but we’ll see how it turns out.

FA

Leave a Reply

