2021 CONFERENCE PICKS

That’s how to do it. I went three for four on my divisional picks, and if Drew Brees just remembered to throw the ball to his own teammates instead of the other team I could have gone perfect. But, to paraphrase a famous Tom Hanks quote, there’s no crying in football, so I’m going to move on with my 75% and pat myself on the back anyway. It’s been a long season, but there are only three games remaining, and they’re the most important games, by far.

Here are my picks for the Conference Championships…

Buccaneers @ PACKERS – The NFC goes first, which means the old man has the shortest turnaround time of the four teams still left. He looked okay in the Saints game, but it was really the defense that came through and won that game for them, and they’ll need the defense again in this one. Everyone seems to be focusing on the lopsided score in the Bucs favor in their regular season meeting, either to prove that the Bucs have “figured out” the Packers, or to say that no one does Rodgers have it happen twice, but I’m more focused on the location and the weather of this game. Rodgers has shown he is always better at home, even with little to no fans in attendance, and he’s also proven that he’s great in cold weather. For the Bucs to win this one they have to rely on a run game that has been good in the playoffs to this point, and to win the turnover differential. I don’t think they will be able to do either against a motivated Packers defense and an offense that protects the ball. Pick: PACKERS (by 6).

Bills @ CHIEFS – It’s not that I don’t think the Bills have a chance. If Mahomes was out I would say they might be able to win this game, but Mahomes is playing, and if he’s as healthy as I think it won’t be much of a game until garbage time. The Chiefs are just multi-dimensional in a way the Bills aspire to, but I think this Buffalo team is still a year away from being a real contender to take out the defending Super Bowl champion. I like the Kansas City offense to go deep often in this one, to pick their spots and expose the holes in the Bills defense that the Ravens weren’t equipped to exploit. Keep in mind, too, that this Buffalo offense hasn’t been as explosive in the playoffs as they were in the regular season, which is not a good look against an opportunistic Chiefs defense that can force turnovers. I think it’s 17-10 at the half, but the Chiefs turn the third quarter into their own playground and bury the upstart Bills. Pick: CHIEFS (by 10).

Leave a comment